Selby Boat Ramp
Boaters Safety Course
If your birthday is after 1 July 1972 then you need to enroll in a boater's safety course. Your certificate must be carried with you while you are in operation of any watercraft. If you haven't taken your boaters safety course and would like to, then go to www.boat-ed.com/Maryland and take it online. It's a great way to be safe!!
Life Jackets for Kids
***NOTICE TO BOATERS***
EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY, ANYONE UNDER THE AGE OF 13,
IN A BOAT LESS THAN 21 FEET IN LENGTH, WHILE UNDERWAY,
MUST WEAR A COAST GUARD APPROVED LIFE JACKET.
Effective April 1, 2010, Maryland law states that all children under the age of 13 must WEAR a United States Coast Guard approved Personal Flotation Device (life jacket - Type I, II, III or V) while underway on a recreational vessel under 21 feet in length on Maryland waters. Recreational vessel includes motorboats, sailboats, canoes, kayaks, rowboats, and any other device capable of being used for transportation on the water, when the vessel is being used for other than commercial purposes. The life jacket must be the proper size for the child and must be in good and serviceable condition.
This requirement does not apply when:
- Be at least 16 years of age to operate.
- Wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket
- Carry a certificate of boater safety education if born on or after July 1, 1972
- Maintain 6 knots or slower within 100 feet of another PWC, vessel, shore, pier, piling, bridge structure, abutment or people in the water
- Have PWC equipped with an operating self-circling device or kill switch
YOU MAY NOT...
- Operate above idle speed in water less than 18 inches in depth
- Operate between sunset and sunrise
- Jump or attempt jumping the wake of another vessel within 100 feet of that vessel
- Operate within 300 feet of people in the water or surf fishing activities in the Atlantic Ocean
- disturb waterfowl and wildlife
- Operate in a reckless and/or negligent manner
RESPECT OTHERS RIDE RESPONSIBLY!
Fines up to $500 for violating these regulations
This is only a summary of MD regulations as of 04/04. For more information contact (410) 643-8502 or (410) 260-8888 (24 hours).
An individual may not operate or give permission to operate a personal watercraft, required to be numbered in this State, on the water of this State unless a regulation sticker approved by the Department is attached to the personal watercraft. This sticker must be attached on the upper half of the vessel in such a manner that the operator can clearly read the information on the sticker. It may not be placed underneath any compartments such as the front hatch or under the seat cover. Utilize the appropriate color sticker in accordance with the color of the vessel (i.e., cark color vessels should use the sticker with white lettering and vessels which are white or light in color should use the sticker with navy blue lettering).
If you have any questions or concerns in regards to the placement of this sticker, please call the Natural Resources Police Safety Education Division at (410) 643-8502 for further instructions.